Gull Lake Yacht Club


The Gull Lake Yacht Club has officially wrapped up another wonderful season of sailboat racing. We had beautiful weather this year and the wind gods generally treated us to fair winds. Our fleets enjoyed exciting racing, as several fleet champions were not determined until the very last day of sailing. Our season champions were Greg Smith from the Star Fleet, Woody Boudeman from the J22 Fleet, Tom Lechota from the Flying Scott Fleet, Tick Ticknor from the 210 Fleet and Joel Kupstas was our top Junior sailor. This distinguished group of sailors concluded our season with our Club Championship - the Boudeman Cup.  Jim VanderMolen from the Star Fleet was crowned Club Champion this season with a dominating performance. Congratulations to Jim!

Scheduling for next season is already underway as we are working to attract some national events in addition to planning our annual regattas. This year concludes my tenure as Commodore. I must thank all the members of the Gull Lake Yacht Club Board of Directors as they did a fantastic job of keeping the Yacht Club on track. Special thanks to Tom Lechota for all his leadership, Dave Johnson for his direction, and Melinda Titus and the Race Crew for always being there for the racers with world class race courses. Last but not least, thank you to Roger Turner and Mike MacQueen for doing a great job with the Junior Sailing Program.

Have a fantastic winter, sailors!  I look forward to seeing you all next summer.

Who Has More Fun….

Jon VanderMolen